Updates of Adamawa governorship supplementary election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has scheduled today, Thursday, March 28, to conduct the supplementary governorship election in Adamawa state.

Before the March 9 election was declared inconclusive, Ahmed Umar Fintiri, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), had polled 367,471 votes, while the incumbent governor, Jibrilla Bindow of the All Progressives Congress (APC), had 334,995 votes.

It meant Fintiri was leading with a margin 32,476; however, ballots cancelled for various infractions amounted to 40,988, leaving INEC with no option but to schedule a rerun in the affected 44 polling units in 28 registration areas.

The people of Adamawa state troop out to finally decide who will be their next governor for the next four years.

Accreditation and voting started 8am. Accreditation and voting will took place between 8am and 2pm in 29 Registration Areas, having 44 Polling Units, across 14 LGAs with a total number of 40,988 registered voters.

There was high voter turn-out in Kofar-Waya I. There is high voter turn-out in Kofar-Waya I Polling Unit, Girei LGA, Adamawa state.

Daily Trust gathered that the voters are in high spirit to cast their ballots for candidates of their choice as they sit patiently. Officers and men of the Nigeria Police, Nigerian Security and Civil Defence Corp (NSCDC), and Federal Road Safety Corp (FRSC) are also on ground to control the surging crowd

There was Low voter turn-out at Ardo Maguwa/Kofar Ardo PU 001, Girei LGA Accreditation and voting are going on smoothly at Ardo Maguwa/Kofar Ardo PU 001, Girei LGA. However, there is low voter turn-out amid tight security. The Presiding Officer of the PU, who spoke to Daily Trust on condition of anonymity said there are a total of 770 registered voters in the unit.

Voting ongoing at Luman LGA Voting is ongoing in Numan LGA, PU 005. 14:03 PM Voting ongoing at Rabarma unit, Numan 2 ward of Numan LGA Accreditation and voting is ongoing at Rabarma unit, Numan 2 ward of Numan LGA, Song LGA Song Waje PU: 02-16-10-005, and Ganye LGA Sangasumi PU: 02-03-07-005. 14:50 PM Voting ends in some polling units The voting process has ended in some of the polling units in Yola south and Michika LGAs.

Sorting and counting of votes ongoing.

Results from Guyuk LGA Polling Unit 017, Guyuk LGA
APC – 8 PDP – 176

Polling Unit 001, Guyuk LGA
APC – 0 PDP – 154

Dangir Dutse Polling Unit 001, Chikala Ward
APC – 0 PDP -144

Guyuk PU 001
APC – 0 PDP – 154

PU 005, Karalbadi Duhu Mayowandu:
ADC – 5 APC – 0 PDP – 131 SDP – 1

Results from Yola South Bako Ward, Yola South LGA
APC – 60 PDP – 185

Results from Girei LGA PU 003 Modire Ward, Girei LG
APC 93 PDP 278

Ardo Maguwa/Kofan Ardo PU 001, Girei l Ward, Girei LGA
APC 102 PDP 72

Kofarwaya PU 003 Girei Ward:
APC – 46 PDP – 168

Results from Lamurde LGA PU 001, Hadiyo Unit, Lamurde LGA
APC 09 PDP 146

Results from Numan,
Germin Ward:
APC – 2 PDP – 202

Kadomti Ward:
APC – 5 PDP – 214

Kikan Ward:
APC – 1 PDP – 362

Zabarma Ward:
APC – 26 PDP – 199

Kolbani Duhu/ Mayo Madagali: APC – 0 PDM – 5 PDP – 135
Results from Michika LGA PU 003, Moda Dlaka, Michika LG
PDP 101 APC 166

PU 006, Jigalambu, Michika LG
PDP 248 APC 7

FWA Unit PU 005 Michika LGA
PDP 161 APC 3

Results from Madagali LGA PU 005, Kolbadi, Madagali LGA
APC 0 PDP 131

Results from Song LGA Atiku Primary School, PU 001, Song LGA
APC 203 PDP 209

Didango PU 003, Song LGA
APC 116 PDP 268

PU 019, J.K.Umaru Song LGA
APC 86 PDP 170

Results from Mubi LGA Pwagui PU 024, Mubi LGA
PDP 204 APC 1

Ribawa PU 016 Mubi LGA
PDP 261 APC 7

Mitiri PU 023, Mubi LGA
PDP 266 APC 2

Results from Mubi North Mitiri Primary School PU 023 Kofar Jauro, Muchalla Ward M
APC 2 PDP 266

Ribawo PU Muchalla Ward
APC 7 PDP 261

Mbulaya-Jilvu PU Muchalla Ward
APC 1 PDP 204

Movura-Jilvu Muchalla Ward
APC 1 PDP 169

Collation of Adamawa rerun results shifted The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has moved the collation of result of the Adamawa governorship supplementary election to 8pm. The Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) of INEC in the state, Kasim Gaidam, confirmed this in Yola.

According to him, the collation would begin at the Adamawa state governorship election collation centre at INEC state headquarters in Yola at the scheduled time.

Gaidam noted that the election had been concluded peacefully and successfully in the 44 polling units in 14 local government areas of the state. “We thank Almighty God that the supplementary election was conducted successfully and the collation of the result will commenced by 8pm today,” he said while thanking the residents for their peaceful conduct during the exercise.


By Eromosele Ebhomele Nurudeen Lawal

Facebook Comments
The following two tabs change content below.
Nwabueze Favour is a blogger, writer, content developer, a data analyst and a development enthusiast. A social media expert, an avid reader and a lover of books, music and movies.

Latest posts by Favour Nwabueze (see all)

Leave a Reply